Roundhead Studios: One of Them

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 10.18.19 AM

Last Friday, the musicians of TGS were given the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to record a song at Roundhead Studios. The Studios have been the setting for the recording of Kiwi artists such as ‘Fat Freddy’s Drop’ and ‘Broods’ in the past. This musical group, called the Vagabond Vibes, performed their original arrangement, a mashup of Ben Howard’s “Only Love” and Rihanna’s “Stay,” with accompaniment of guitar, organ, bass, and drums. The eight-hour session was a thrilling learning experience for all the students, and this music video seeks to encapsulate that energy. A special thanks to Roundhead Studios, including Jeremy McPike and Scott Seabright, as well as coordinators Clare Fletcher and Joann McPike.

 

The following is a reflection conducted on place in a sort of ‘Stream of Consciousness’ style. It is meant to be read fast and in one go.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 10.27.10 AM

 

Feet stand planted, rooting into the ground. Pressing against it as though it were soft and you were trying to sink into the floor itself. But it doesn’t work the floor stays a floor and you stay resting on it’s surface. Your hands stay at your sides, brushing against the bottoms of your shorts. The words of every music teacher you have ever had rushing through your mind “Legs shoulder-width apart, arms at your sides, feet on the ground.”

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 10.18.46 AM And you listen to the words. You listen to the words you always ignored before because you assume that they would have listened to them. They being the artists that came through these doors before me. The artists that knew what they were doing. Or so I assume. And I have forgotten the lyrics. I have forgotten them until I the clicks in my ear start and the strumming pattern surfaces. And even then I cannot remember if I try to. So I must not try. I must stand and pray that they will come out on their own. And sometimes they don’t and I catch the glare of the guitarist and I fear the technicians are comparing me to them and that I am coming nowhere close. Them being the artists that stood here before me. And I feel guilty and silly thinking that this song, the song we learned just a day before being presented before this stunning studio meant for the uses of them. But it is great to be here. To have walked through the same doors they walked through. And the word ‘Darling’ circles through my mind. Darling Darling Darling Darling. Love Love Love. And I start to wonder, when Ben Howard said Only love did he mean he only had love or was he calling someone love? And the meaning gets jumbled and some serious mind inception starts happening and suddenly you realize how little attention you are paying to the words you are singing. And you think. And you hope that one of these days you will walk through these doors as one of them.

 

Leave a Reply

